T20 World Cup format explained: When do England, Australia and India play their first games? Are West Indies and Sri Lanka out? – Sporting News

The T20 World Cup got off to a stunning and shock-laden start in Australia.
Sri Lanka, winners in 2014, were beaten in the competition opener by Namibia, while West Indies, triumphant in 2012 and 2016 and a traditional powerhouse of cricket’s shortest international format, were humbled by Scotland.
What happened next for those two fan-favourite sides are out already? And why are England, Australia and India not playing until this weekend?
Read on, we’ve got all the answers.
MORE: T20 World Cup: Betting preview for leading runscorer, leading wicket-taker, most sixes and tournament winner
There are 16 teams taking part in the T20 World Cup overall, with eight progressing directly to the Super 12 stage of the competition.
The remaining eight were split across Group A and Group B in the first round. The four teams in each group played each other once, with the top two progressing from the initial round-robin phase to the Super 12.
Split into Group 1 and Group 2, with every team playing one another once to comprise five games each, the top two teams in each Super 12 section will qualify for the semi-finals.
All of the teams that reached the Super 12 in 2021 automatically qualified for the 2022 tournament.
However, West Indies and Sri Lanka were not ranked among the leading eight of those sides, meaning they took their places in the first round alongside looming conquerors Namibia and Scotland.
The other four places were filled by teams who came through two ICC Global Qualifiers.
Ireland and the United Arab Emirates advanced from Global Qualifier A in Oman in February, while Netherlands and Zimbabwe prevailed in Global Qualifier B, which was hosted by the latter in July.
Sri Lanka bounced back from the Namibia reverse, thumping the UAE by 79 runs before a 16-run victory over the Netherlands saw them pip the European side to top spot in the group via a superior net run rate.
It was different story for West Indies, who got on the board with a 31-run win against Zimbabwe.
In their concluding and decisive group game, Nicholas Pooran’s side were thumped by nine wickets as Ireland opener Paul Stirling starred with 66 not out to helm a successful chase of 147 with 15 balls remaining.
Paul Stirling – 66* (48)
Andrew Balbirnie – 37 (23)
Lorcan Tucker – 45* (35)


Lads, you’ve done us proud 👏#IREvWI #BackingGreen #T20WorldCup ☘️🏏 pic.twitter.com/rj9MYesOfX
Hosts and defending champions Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa all qualified directly for the Super 12 on account of their performances in the 2021 T20 World Cup and their ICC world ranking as of November 2021.
Afghanistan, Australia, England and New Zealand will be joined in Group 1 by Sri Lanka and Ireland.
Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and South Africa are in Group 2, which will be completed by Zimbabwe and the Netherlands.
Australia begin their title defence on Saturday with a mouthwatering clash against New Zealand at the SCG.
On the same day, England take on Afghanistan at Perth Stadium.
Group 2 will start with probably the event of the entire tournament on Sunday when India take on rivals Pakistan at a packed MCG.
Melbourne will also host the final on November 13.
The semi-finals are on November 9 and November 10 at the SCG and Adelaide Oval respectively.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *