Australia A confirm side to face Japan XV | Latest Rugby News | –

Australia A coach Jason Gilmore has named an imposing side as they prepare to kick-off a three-match series against a Japan XV on October 1 in Tokyo.
Scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan once again will lead the side as they look to build from their second-place finish in the Pacific Nations Cup in July.
Catch Australia A take on Japan XV LIVE and ad-free on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now
Lonergan is joined in the halves by Waratahs flyhalf Ben Donaldson, eager to continue his breakout season, with Gilmore confirming Tane Edmed will likely get a shot in the second Test.
Suliasi Vunivalu will get his chance to shine, selected on the wing in an all-Reds back-three as he partners Filipo Daugunu and Jock Campbell.
Gilmore has kept a relatively settled front-row from their last match against Tonga, with Brumbies hooker Lachlan Lonergan coming in to partner Matt Gibbon and Tom Robertson.
Wallabies Nick Frost and Cadeyrn Neville form an imposing second-row, with Ned Hanigan making his return from injury with Ollie Callan and Langi Gleeson in the back row.
Force centre Bayley Kuenzle will make his first appearance in the Australia A side, partnering Brumby Hudson Creighton.
Exciting Brumbies hooker Billy Pollard headlines the replacements off the bench alongside Archer Holz and Harry Hoopert.
Rebels back-rower Brad Wilkin has been rewarded for a strong season with selection on the bench, with Ryan Smith rounding out the forwards' reserve.
He is joined by club teammate James Tuttle as well as Reds back Isaac Henry and Mark Nawaqanitawase, who returns from a brief stint with the Sevens.
Gilmore also confirmed Tom Banks will be likely used in some capacity in the second Test, still recovering from a broken arm.
Every game of the Australia A tour of Japan will be streamed live and available on demand on Stan Sport.  
Australia A team to play Japan at Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday 1 October, 7:00pm JST/8:00pm AEST
1. Matt Gibbon (Melbourne Rebels)
2. Lachlan Lonergan (ACT Brumbies)
3. Tom Robertson (Western Force)
4. Nick Frost (ACT Brumbies)
5. Cadeyrn Neville (ACT Brumbies)
6. Ned Hanigan (NSW Waratahs)
7. Ollie Callan (Western Force)
8. Langi Gleeson (NSW Waratahs)
9. Ryan Lonergan (c) (ACT Brumbies)
10. Ben Donaldson (NSW Waratahs)
11. Filipo Daugunu (Queensland Reds)
12. Bayley Kuenzle (Western Force)
13. Hudson Creighton (ACT Brumbies)
14. Suliasi Vunivalu (Queensland Reds)
15. Jock Campbell (Queensland Reds)
16. Billy Pollard (ACT Brumbies)
17. Harry Hoopert (Queensland Reds)
18. Archer Holz (NSW Waratahs)
19. Ryan Smith (Queensland Reds)
20. Brad Wilkin (Melbourne Rebels)
21. James Tuttle (Melbourne Rebels)
22. Isaac Henry (Queensland Reds)
23. Mark Nawaqanitawase (NSW Waratahs)
The are a proud part of Rugby AU



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *